Preserved Tanks .com
    World Register of Surviving Historic Armoured Vehicles

Current Query: Full entry for the tank(s)/location: by Type and Update, Location & Update with Spare Photos, NavPix & Videos

Query Buttons: Full entry for this tank. All tanks of this type. All tanks at this location.


UNIQUE ID 1273: T28 HEAVY TANK / T95 GUN MOTOR CARRIAGE

Patton Museum of Cavalry and Armor, Fort Knox, USA

(Location: KY MATES Motor Pool)


Powered By Subgurim(http://googlemaps.subgurim.net).Google Maps ASP.NET
Powered By Subgurim(http://googlemaps.subgurim.net).Google Maps ASP.NET

MAP CONTROLS: Use slider or mousewheel to zoom, and hold down left mouse button to drag.
KEY: Location markers are coloured from Green meaning exact to Red meaning gone or unknown (details here)

Sample Photo from Tank with UniqueID 1273


Unique ID: 1273
Added to Database: 19 July 2010
Last Edited: 19 July 2010
Type (ID): T28 Heavy Tank / T95 (1840)
Model (ID): T28 / T95 (1840)
Location Category (ID): Patton Museum of Cavalry and Armor (67010)
Location (ID): KY MATES Motor Pool (67065)
Serial Number: Pilot number 1
Registration: 40226809
Name:
Other Identification:
Collection Reference:
Links:
References:
Associated Tanks:

Location History:
(see map)

1: Pacific Car and Foundry Company, Renton, King County, Washington, USA (Sole manufacturer)
2: United States Army Installation, Fort Belvoir, Fairfax County, Virginia, USA (1950s - 1980)
3: Patton Museum of Cavalry and Armor, Fort Knox, Kentucky, USA (Current location)


Text in original Preserved American Tanks publication:

[No entry]

Text in Preserved American Tanks Update:

[No entry]

Text in original Preserved Tanks In USA publication:

This T28 is the only surviving one. Two pilot models of the T28 were built but the second one was destroyed by fire during one of its trial runs and was subsequently scrapped. It had been believed that this one had also been broken up for scrap during the Korean War. However it was discovered, intact, at Fort Belvoir, Virginia, and acquired by the museum in March 1975. It was transported in pieces because of its excessive weight and refurbished and emplaced by the 76th Heavy Equipment Maintenance Company in 1980. Its engine and final-drive have been removed.


Images - Photographs and NavPix (click to expand or browse)

June 1983

Front left view
1: Front left view

Taken: 30 June 1983
Contributor: T. Larkum
Photo ID: 3491
Added: 19 July 2010
Filename: Scan_T28...
Views: 196
Select/Has Priority: 21/0
    

 

Front view
2: Front view

Taken: 30 June 1983
Contributor: T. Larkum
Photo ID: 3492
Added: 19 July 2010
Filename: Scan_T28...
Views: 147
Select/Has Priority: 21/0
    

 

Front right view
3: Front right view

Taken: 30 June 1983
Contributor: T. Larkum
Photo ID: 3493
Added: 19 July 2010
Filename: Scan_T28...
Views: 195
Select/Has Priority: 21/0
    



Front right view
4: Front right view

Taken: 30 June 1983
Contributor: T. Larkum
Photo ID: 3494
Added: 19 July 2010
Filename: Scan_T28...
Views: 163
Select/Has Priority: 21/0
    



Right view
5: Right view

Taken: 30 June 1983
Contributor: T. Larkum
Photo ID: 3495
Added: 19 July 2010
Filename: Scan_T28...
Views: 147
Select/Has Priority: 21/0
    



Rear right view
6: Rear right view

Taken: 30 June 1983
Contributor: T. Larkum
Photo ID: 3496
Added: 19 July 2010
Filename: Scan_T28...
Views: 4814
Select/Has Priority: 21/0
    



Left view
7: Left view

Taken: 30 June 1983
Contributor: T. Larkum
Photo ID: 3497
Added: 19 July 2010
Filename: Scan_T28...
Views: 157
Select/Has Priority: 21/0
    



Overview
8: Overview

Taken: 30 June 1983
Contributor: T. Larkum
Photo ID: 3498
Added: 19 July 2010
Filename: Scan_T28...
Views: 154
Select/Has Priority: 21/0